welcome to the blog

pretty things live here.

Wedding

January 17, 2019

2018 in Review | Favorite Portraits


As I mentioned in my favorite details post on Tuesday this is one of my favorite weeks of the year. Getting to go through and reflect on all the weddings that I got to celebrate this past season. I was never questioning it but man, do I LOVE my job and putting together this post brought up all sorts of emotions. From joy to excitement to laughter I realized just how many things I feel surrounding a wedding day. In my case, it was 14 different days. 14 different couples with different families and bridal parties. Different centerpieces and bouquets. From different suit colors to hairstyles. Each wedding is uniquely special so I wanted today to celebrate just that today. Their uniqueness.

Instead of doing my normal post where I grab 100 of my favorite images (which I had already done and then decided to go rogue), I wanted to highlight ONE image from every wedding. My absolute favorite. Sure this was torture for most of these days where I bounced between 3 or 4 images… But then there were some where it was SO obvious to me what my favorite was. On top of my favorite images I wanted to highlight what I will remember most about each day. All 14 days hold special memories for me so getting to reflect back has made me a bit of an emotional wreck. I’m definitely not mad about it just grateful. So unbelievably grateful.

To my 14 BEAUTIFUL couples, thank you. From the very bottom of my heart. I will forever remember you and our time together. I’ve said this in past review posts but I mean it fully.. You will FOREVER be a part of my life and this little business of mine. Each of you welcomed me into your clan and allowed me to celebrate you on one of your most important days. That is something that I will never take for granted and I am so fortunate to be in the business of photographing YOU. You are all so stunning and I walk away from this season with a full heart. THANK YOU.

Without further adieu, here is my 2018 Season in Review,

…………..

 


 


June 9, 2018

what I remember most:

The overall feel of Joanie & Brandon’s wedding day. I can almost hear Joanie’s contagious laugh and I can almost feel Brandon’s nerves and excitement the moments before their first look.

why I love this photograph:

That perfectly placed curl that frames Joanie’s face. The way their faces almost perfectly fit together. The joy in their expressions. When I look at this image I can feel their love. Which completely solidifies that I remember what I felt most during their wedding day.


 


 


June 30, 2018

what I remember most:

How full-of-life yet sweet, down to earth, and relaxed these two are together. Jamie & Joe’s day was a hot one but it didn’t stop these two from fully enjoying their wedding day. I will forever remember their intimate and emotional ceremony… & the pizza we had for dinner.

why I love this photograph:

Joe’s right hand. That’s a VERY weird thing to be drawn too but I think the placement of his hand on Jamie’s shoulder is intimate and romantic. I usually let people place their hand that is away from the camera fall wherever they’d like so I love that this is where he placed it. But like, these two are gorg so it’s also that!


 


 


July 21, 2018

what I remember most:

The elegance and timelessness of this day. It will be a day that 30 years from now will still be absolutely breathtaking. That’s a hard thing to accomplish but these two did it.

why I love this photograph:

The dress. The flowers. The background. That random rogue fallen petal at their feet. Scott’s tux. The anticipation of the almost kiss. There’s a lot here.


 


 


August 4, 2018

what I remember most:

Liz & Scott’s memorable ceremony! Their officiant did a metaphor with glue that had everyone in stitches. They also had guests from around the world. I thought that was pretty remarkable!

why I love this photograph:

I LOVE GOLF COURSES. I’ve said it a few times now but I absolutely adore shooting on the groomed landscape. Add the big vast trees on the course and it makes a pretty magical background. I also love how Liz is leaning into Scott here!


 


 


August 11, 2018

what I remember most:

The party bus. It isn’t often that I get to ride along on the celebratory train but for Emily & Craig’s day I did. Everyone was singing and having a blast. I downloaded like 3 of the songs we jammed to so now every time I hear them, I think of these two & their day.

why I love this photograph:

The JOY. It’s so obvious but come on. Just look at these two! OBSESSED. Also the colors are so creamy and wonderful.


 


 


August 17, 2018

what I remember most:

Grant’s reaction to opening a boudoir album of Lizzie that I photographed a few months prior. His reaction was priceless and I giggle every time I remember his wide eyed grin!

why I love this photograph:

There were 2 or 3 contenders from their day but ultimately I decided on this one. I love the way Lizzie is holding onto Grant’s arm. It’s almost like she’s lovingly cradling her heart (which I think she is). I also love the connection in their eyes.


 


 


August 18, 2018

what I remember most:

This moment right here. The energy was electric. I also will always remember that Jess & August celebrated their day in ways the fulfilled and made them happy. I think that’s important and I love that these two did just that.

why I love this photograph:

Again with the joy (is there a theme? There’s got to be a theme). I also am OBSESSED with the light in this shot. I remember I showed the wedding coordinator after the ceremony was officially over and I squealed. I knew before even processing it that it was going to be a favorite. I was right.


 


 


September 15, 2018

what I remember most:

Madeline & Nate’s bridal party. This was such a good group of people and it was such a blast hanging with them all for the day. A good bridal party can really make your day extra fun. These two are surrounded by some amazing people.

why I love this photograph:

The light. The videographer and I were chatting about when would be the best time to sneak out (without disrupting the flow of the reception). The sunsets a little quicker in the early fall than it does mid-summer so we snuck out at the perfect moment. 30 seconds after this shot the sun dipped behind the tree line and the magic was gone.


 


 


September 29, 2018

what I remember most:

The perfect weather! It was a little bit chilly but these two had the most magical overcast day. That little bit of cloud cover allowed us to shoot freely throughout the property and gave this almost story-book feel to their images.

why I love this photograph:

I love the layers in this photograph. There is foreground (that front apple tree to the right and upper left), middle ground (Michelle & Jeb), and then the background. Amongst that they are perfectly framed between the trees making the landscape feel more full and lush. Too much photographer talk? Can’t stop, won’t stop.


 


 


October 6, 2018

what I remember most:

During their reception, Liz & Tim opted that in order for them to kiss, tables had to drum up donations for Alzheimers research (hope this is right Liz)! Amazingly selfless in itself but the table that gathered the most had a donation of over $300! It was so inspiring to see so many people donating to something that’s important.

why I love this photograph:

The colors and leading lines. The left side of the frame swoops you down towards Liz & Tim as you’ll follow the tree line. Then you get drawn to the vibrance on the right hand side. This one was an easy pick!


 


 


October 13, 2018

what I remember most:

The wind & that it was unusually chilly for early October! BUT Sarah and Ted totally rolled with the day and soaked up it’s gorgeousness for what it was. Much like rain, it made their day uniquely their’s and extra special.

why I love this photograph:

I am seriously in LOVE with the movement of Sarah’s dress. It creates such whimsy in this photo!


 


 


November 3, 2018

what I remember most:

The tenderness that these two share. I will NEVER forget Mark wiping a tear off of Krista’s face during the ceremony. It was romantic and straight out of a movie.

why I love this photograph:

First off, Krista looks like a bombshell! I also love the content in Mark’s face. It’s relaxed and warm & the way Krista is leaning into him just brings such joy to my heart!


 


 


November 10, 2018

what I remember most:

That these two felt like my best friends. Courtney and I clicked right away but it was no surprise that I felt the same way with Scott. I will also always remember Mr. Cheese Curd Man because duh.

why I love this photograph:

The colors. The light. The water. It was chilly out but these two were such troopers and I absolutely LOVED getting to shoot near the water. Overcast days seriously bring me such joy. Again with the joy. Theme? definitely.


 


 


December 29, 2018

what I remember most:

The lack of snow. During their engagement session in June we were talking about places that Tyler could shovel so that they had places to stand during their portraits. Leading up to their wedding I was wishing for snow like I wish for no torrential rain. Lucky for us we got a beautiful dusting the night prior. It was PERFECT.

why I love this photograph:

I love how Hope & Tyler pop off the background of this shot. It makes them front and center while there still has some depth and excitement going on in the back. I also love the reflection of the pine tree.