Wedding

January 9, 2020

2019 Year in Review | Portraits | Part 02


Last year I decided to do something different. Instead of going through all my weddings and pulling hundreds of images I wanted it to be a little unique and special. I opted to pull my absolute FAVORITE image from each wedding. Only one & explain a little bit about what I remember the most from each wedding and WHY that image was my favorite. From the composition, to the emotion, to the exact way a dress has fallen, I wanted to give you a little creative background as to why that image stood out amongst the rest.

Each year I put together a post similar to this & every single year I am filled with immense gratitude. I’m not sure it’ll ever get old.. Of being trusted with the imagery from one of the most important days in a couples lives. To balancing their unique relationships with the people they love the most. To be allowed a front seat on an emotional, joyful, thrilling, stressful, and intimate day. To have the chance to peer into the in between moments, the ones that no one else gets to witness. The forehead kisses, the jitters that wash over moments before the walk down the aisle, the giggles that happen during portraits, or the sweet words exchanged during a first look. It’s all these moments, the ones that truly make up a wedding day, that I can’t believe I get the honor to photograph.

This season was nothing short of magical & while I feel like I say that every year, I truly do mean it. I feel that each “group” of couples always have similar characteristics. Things that connect their personalities and I truly believe that if I was able to get these individuals all in one room with their corresponding year that they would become life long friends. Getting to pick out the traits of the 2019 couples was something I wanted to highlight because it was completely true.

The 2019 Couple

  • Organized: These couples were all on their absolute “A” games & while I think I’m organized. They often times were working 2 steps a head of me. There were a lot of my emails back that said, “reaching to you (pertaining said thing) was on my to-do list for the week so high fives for beating me to it. We all know I LOVE some good organization so these couples were awesome for that.

  • Hospitable: Holy macaroni. I don’t think I’ve EVER had so many couples ask me how I’m doing on a wedding day. It was a consistent pattern amongst my weekends and while I never want to feel like any of the attention is on me, I really appreciated the hospitality and consideration.

  • Joyful: This seems blatantly obvious but I’m actually not talking about my brides here. The grooms of the 2019 season were some of the most joyful and excited men I’ve had the pleasure of photographing. I’m talking BIG BIG BIG smiles

I don’t know about you, but those three characteristics are pretty dang wonderful.. & while I’m sure I could drum up a million more to describe them, that truly just begins to describe the Caynay Couple. I ADORED all of my couples from this season. They all left such a big imprint in my heart and I will forever be reminded of their love and magic.

Just like that the 2019 season is over and I can’t believe how unbelievably beautiful it was.


 


 


August 17, 2019

what I remember most:

During Keara & Dan’s catholic ceremony, a few individuals started walking down the aisle to get the offering. I was backing up to photograph them coming down and backed up right into the small table & small bowl of holy water. While I was shooting with my right hand, my left had swiveled back to grab it. Fortunately the bowl didn’t hit the ground but most of its contents did. While I thought no-one noticed (other than the ushers), I had a handful people tell me they were either keeping their distance from me or congratulating me on my agility.

why I love this photograph:

Probably because I didn’t take it. Keara & Dan really wanted a second photographer so I opted to bring on my younger brother, Ian. Ian is weirdly good at everything he does and photography is one of those things. I am OBSESSED with Dan’s emotion in this shot.

see more of their day at the memorial union, here


 


 


September 1, 2019

what I remember most:

Their CHEESE cake (you read that right). One of my favorite things about the 2019 season is that couples were opting to celebrate their days exactly how they wanted to. Susie & Todd LOVE cheese so they had this killer 3 teared cake that was on a custom engrained wood stand. I will also remember thinking Susie looked like Julia Roberts in Runaway Bride. I mentioned this to her & she elated that, that’s the look she was going for. My day was made!

why I love this photograph:

Their radiance in this shot & also how CREAMY and DREAMY the background and their skin tones are. These two had the most beautiful weather and I knew the second I hit the shutter on this photograph that it was going to be a favorite. These two KILLED it even though we didn’t have an engagement session together!

see more of their bishops bay country club wedding, here


 


 


September 7, 2019

what I remember most:

I went to school with Morgan & Dylan so I was extra excited to be celebrating with them. I will forever remember our time together during golden hour. We snuck out during their reception to grab these photographs & it was honestly, SO fun. We laughed & talked about the day. It was one of the moments, during our 8 hours together, that I will forever hold near and dear to my heart.

why I love this photograph:

I LOVE (& I mean LOVE) how Morgan & Dylan just pop off the background in this shot. I love the movement in Morgan’s dress, I love how creamy the light is. So I guess what I’m saying is I just love this shot of them for a multitude of reasons.

see more of their la casa grande wedding, here


 


 


September 14, 2019

what I remember most:

Katy & Bobby’s most SUN FILLED DAY. From the very beginning to their golden hour. Katy & Bobby had the absolute most perfect weather to celebrate their day. Outside of that I will always remember Bobby’s radiant reaction to Katy coming down the aisle and Katy having a big fuzzy bumble bee swirl her mid ceremony. These two had the most perfect day and I will forever think of them and smile.

why I love this photograph:

I feel like this is completely and totally obvious… But technically speaking, I love how the rolling hill behind them is perfectly exposed. I love the branch above their heads frames them perfectly and I love the golden glow casting itself through the trees. 10/10 recommended.

see more of their lussier heritage center wedding, here


 


 


September 21, 2019

what I remember most:

Jess & Xi just have this humorous nature about them. From the morning of their wedding all the way down to the packed dance floor. I found myself giggling and having such a good time. Now, I have a good time at every wedding but Jess & Xi’s big day was exceptionally fun!

why I love this photograph:

I absolutely AODRE how genuinely happy they both look in this photograph. The type of photo that will be cherished for the years to come. I also love the leading line of the driveway bringing your eye around the image along with the road on the left hand side.

see more of their day at the lageret, here


 


 


September 27, 2019

what I remember most:

How okay Kate & Shawn were with the weather. It isn’t easy having a radar looming rain around your ceremony start time and in the end, being correct about said rain. Kate & Shawn let no part of that damper their joy & I will forever remember that. The rest of the day ended up allowing us to get everything done that we needed to but their acceptance was admirable.

why I love this photograph:

JOY. I always gravitate towards images that portray joy and this shot of them does that for me. I adore the way Shawn is looking at Kate and the way Kate just oozes happiness. During their portraits, we had thunder off in the distance so it was a race against the clock but these two killed it!

see more of their day at NOAHs event venue, here


 


 


September 28, 2019

what I remember most:

I will NEVER forget Sarah’s palpable excitement the morning of her wedding. Sarah and Brian are 110% made for each other so getting to witness such a beautiful love is what sticks out most to me. I very rarely cry at weddings but their ceremony left me in tears.

why I love this photograph:

Remember up above when I said I gravitate towards images that leave me filled with joy? Does it get any more joyful than this shot? Truth be told, picking an image from Sarah & Brian’s day was quite tricky. I had a few contenders but ultimately could not pick this one.

see more of their day at milwaukee brewing company, here


 


 


October 4, 2019

what I remember most:

Before Amanda even booked me she asked about my views on a few topics that were important to her. While we aligned on these views, I had to virtually hug Amanda. She wanted her day to be filled with vendors who cared about the same things she did and I find that so inspiring. Outside of that, Amanda & Mike are two of the most amazing individuals I’ve had the honor of photographing. Their day was simply spectacular from start to finish.

why I love this photograph:

I love that this photograph feels completely candid. I believe their videographer said something which drew the attention over to them while I continued to snap. It created an image that feels intimate, unique, and that I caught them in a joy-filled moment on an oh so important day.

see more of their over the vines wedding, here


 


 


October 12, 2019

what I remember most:

Jenna & Jim are RADIANT which I feel like it super obvious just by looking at this photo but what I will remember most is Jenna’s dress. I had been wanting to photograph a dress like this for a very long time so I was extra elated to see that this was her pick. Their wedding also brought me back to one of my favorite venues, DC Estate Winery, so I was completely in love all day.

why I love this photograph:

I feel like there is a reoccurring theme here. Joy joy joy joy & more joy! Jenna & Jim’s faces are priceless. Technically speaking though, I love how the tree line follows and matches the top of their noggins & how they just pop off the background.

see more of their day at dc estate winery, here


 


 


October 19, 2019

what I remember most:

Drew’s AMAZING reaction to Heather walking down the aisle. I love when a groom doesn’t hold back his emotions to seeing his bride & Drew did just that. His reaction was full of so much love that it set the tone for the entire day. Heather & Drew had an absolutely stunning wedding and I will never forget these two.

why I love this photograph:

I’ve expressed it a few times but I love shooting at golf courses. The big trees, the well maintained green, and the little bits of longer grass. This shot encompasses all of that and I am obsessed with it. Throw in the changing leaves, some happy faces, and that little shed off to the left? It’s all a win for me.

see more of their day at the whispering springs golf course, here


 


 


November 9. 2019

what I remember most:

How unbelievably warm, friends, welcoming, accepting Ashley & Josh (& all their crew) is. I spent the day feeling like I was with a bunch of friends and honestly, that’s my favorite thing ever. I feel connected to my couples but these two made me feel it ten fold. Their day was so unbelievably fun and I definitely won’t ever forget that.

why I love this photograph:

The rule of thirds is strong here and it makes me so happy. For non-photo folk, you aren’t “technically” supposed to put a subject in the middle of the frame. Moving them off to the one side creates a little interest & while I sometimes don’t follow that, I love it here. I also love Ashley’s veil and how Josh flows off the frame just a little bit. Man, this shot is just money (if I do say so myself).

see more of their day at the mercantile, here


 


 


November 16, 2019

what I remember most:

THIS moment. It was COLD but the sun was so glow-filled that it made the cold fingers and toes completely worth it. I’m pretty sure the videographers thought I was totally nuts because my squealing was ridiculous. During this moment, I created some of my favorite portraits ever. Outside of shooting, Julia & Ryan had a day that was timeless and beautiful. Their love is one for the books!

why I love this photograph:

I believe, this was my most liked photo of 2019 or close to it. I mean, I can definitely see why it was so well loved. Julie & Ryan look so unbelievably timeless in this shot that I honestly can’t wait to see how it looks 20 years from now. My guess? Still beautiful.

see more of their day at the mercantile, here


 


 


December 28, 2019

what I remember most:

HOLY MACARONI, EVERYTHING? Is that a valid answer? I joked with Taylor the morning of their wedding that I couldn’t believe we were having to take the radar into account for rain. Fortunately these two did a first look.. As we were wrapping up the groomsmen shots (girls were loaded into the limo) the sprinkles started happening. It torrentially down-poured the rest of the afternoon. Lucky for me, these two didn’t let a little rain dampen their spirits and it was a breathtaking day.

why I love this photograph:

I feel like this is obvious and doesn’t need an explanation. First off, Taylor’s florals are totally drool worthy. Her dress is also perfection. Austin looks so dang happy & then there is Scout! The most well behaved (Denver, take notes) and sweet golden doodle ever. I am OBSESSED with this photograph.

see more of their classic wedding at the edgewater, here


 


 


August 16, 2019

what I remember most:

STRAIGHT UP STUNNERS! Frankie & Jordan’s day was a full blown celebration from start to finish. We discussed not stopping at the park and heading straight to the venue to warm up but my gut told me we should stop. I would like to say that I am SO so SO so glad that we did. The light was absolutely perfect & these two completely rocked it. Goose bumps & all!

why I love this photograph:

First and foremost, the LIGHT. That beautiful glow coming in from the left had side hitting them perfectly just warms me straight to my core. Frankie is also totally rocking the model shot and I love how content Jordan looks laying a smooch on her cheek.

see more of their day at the lageret, here


2019 Part One Year-In-Review

Last Years Year-in-Review